Advanced search FAQ Register Login

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:45 am

Postby Ken76 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:13 pm

Cheers guys,

I'm quite new to the raspberry scene and still learning but I am planning to install a Raspberry Pi zero wireless together with a 2.8 capasitive touchscreen(adafruit) and a Justboom amp zero hat in a "pimp my radio-project". I need some qualified advice from someone who knows what they are doing so to speak.
Would this be a problem when stacking these units with regard to the GPIO-pins?
Would it be possible to back power the screen from the Justboom amp (which already back powers the RPi) or should I use a separate power for the screen?

Ken76
n00b

Postby Dave » Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:50 am

Hmm, this might not work...

The Adafruit touch screen - https://www.modmypi.com/raspberry-pi/sc ... uchscreen/ - Uses:

I2C (GPIO02/Pin 3 and GPIO03/Pin 5)
SPI (GIPO10/Pin 19, GPIO09/Pin 21, GPIO11/Pin 23 and GPIO08/Pin 24)
GPIO24/Pin 18
GPIO25/Pin 22

And the JustBOOM amp uses these pins - https://pinout.xyz/pinout/amp_zero

As you can see GPIO24 is required by both boards. This is used to control the volume on the AMP, but I'm not sure what it's used for on the screen.

They also share the I2C pins, which shouldn't be a problem as long as they have different hardware addresses.

Dave
ModMyPi

Forum Administrator & Technical Support

Postby Ken76 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:18 am

Hi Dave!

Thank you for responding and sorry for my late reply.

I read that the I2C pins could be used by several boards but how can I be sure of this? (except from testing that is)

The GPIO24 represents a problem... I do want to use the rotary encoder. Is it possible to rearrange the pins for this in the SW? (I'm planning to use Max2play for my setup) This would probably give me some unwanted problems when upgrading the SW I guess...?