Advanced search FAQ Register Login

It is currently Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:33 am

Postby aolbrechts » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:46 am

Hello,

I'm quite new to the π, but I'm developing a new digital signage project and I'm looking for some answers on 2-3 topics.

First one : is there a way to simply trigger a local script (stored on the π) from a remote web server ?
One of the goals is to click a button on the web admin to launch a script on the π to rsync a folder (from web to local)

Thanks for your precious advice !
Antoine

aolbrechts
n00b

Postby Dave » Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:19 pm

You should be able to, yes.

If you are using PHP then take a look at the question asked here http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1973 ... t-from-php

Dave
ModMyPi

Forum Administrator & Technical Support

Postby aolbrechts » Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:30 pm

Hello Dave

Thanks for the info. The link is very interesting (I'm bookmarking it) but it seems to describe the operation on a local PHP server.
My goal here would be to do this from a remote web server.

Antoine

aolbrechts
n00b

Postby Dave » Fri Feb 17, 2017 2:35 pm

Oh so the web server is on a different machine that has the python scripts? Hmmm....

Could you not just use the Pi that has the scripts on it as a webserver?

Dave
ModMyPi

Forum Administrator & Technical Support

Postby aolbrechts » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:53 am

The π is intended to be in a store on a light internet access so I want it to be independent if the internet access is down.

The idea is to have a PHP app on a remote web server with a dashboard where the client can log in and manage content (text, images, videos) on the server.

When he edits the slideshow playlist, he can "push" the data on the π
Actually, the "push" operation would be launching a script on the π that syncs a local folder on the π with a folder on the web server.