Audio Amp and DAC both?

Badum Tish! DAC's, music & microcontrollers
Post Reply
Doug B
Initiated
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: Canada

Audio Amp and DAC both?

Post by Doug B » Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:39 pm

I'm thinking of assembling a music centre with good quality sound.

Do I need both an audio amp such as an IQAudioIO PiAmp 35w AND an IQAudioIO PI-DAC+?

Also would OSMC be the best music server software?

Thanks

Doug

User avatar
Dave
ModMyPi
Posts: 2936
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Amp and DAC both?

Post by Dave » Wed Jan 04, 2017 2:54 pm

You only need this - https://www.modmypi.com/raspberry-pi/br ... -amplifier

That combines the functions of the Pi-AMP+ and the Pi-DAC+

As for music server software, OSMC is more aimed at being a media centre, so movies, tv shows etc... Is does handle music as well, but there are dedicated music server software out there like:

Mopidy
or
Pi MusicBox which is based off Mopidy

There are plenty out there, just have a Google and read up on which one will suit your needs best.
Forum Administrator & Technical Support

Doug B
Initiated
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 7:12 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Audio Amp and DAC both?

Post by Doug B » Wed Jan 04, 2017 6:46 pm

Dave wrote:You only need this - https://www.modmypi.com/raspberry-pi/br ... -amplifier

That combines the functions of the Pi-AMP+ and the Pi-DAC+

As for music server software, OSMC is more aimed at being a media centre, so movies, tv shows etc... Is does handle music as well, but there are dedicated music server software out there like:

Mopidy
or
Pi MusicBox which is based off Mopidy

There are plenty out there, just have a Google and read up on which one will suit your needs best.
Perfect! Just the info I was looking for. Thanks Dave.

Doug

TimothyCoash
n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2019 5:14 am
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Audio Amp and DAC both

Post by TimothyCoash » Sat Feb 23, 2019 12:08 pm

4 Audio input level... Why would one set it up here when there is a dial on the side already?

Post Reply